WILPF is a membership-led organisation. Its highest decision-making body is the International Congress, which meets every third year to discuss the work of WILPF and set the policies and direction of WILPF.

Members either join one of the 38 WILPF National Sections or 9 National Groups, or become international members if no National Section or Group is present in their countries. The work of WILPF National Sections and Groups is based on the aims and principles of WILPF and the International Programme adopted by the International Congress.

Between Congresses, WILPF’s International Board is responsible for the overall governance of WILPF and for WILPF achieving its aims and principles. The International Board also ensures that the decisions adopted by the Congress are implemented. The International Board is composed of the President, two Vice-Presidents, the Treasurer, and one Regional Representative or one alternate Regional Representative for each region (currently Africa, Asia Pacific, South Asia, Europe, Middle East and North Africa (MENA) and the Americas). The Secretary-General is also part of the International Board, but in a non-voting advisory role.

WILPF International Secretariat, with offices in Geneva and New York, liaises with the International Board and the National Sections and Groups for the implementation of WILPF International Programme, resolutions and policies as adopted by the International Congress. Under the direction of the Secretary-General the Secretariat also provides support in areas of advocacy, communications, and financial operations.

International Board Members 2018-2021

Joy Ada Onyesoh, President

Margrethe Tingstad, Vice-President

Melissa Torres, Vice-President

Kerry McGovern, Treasurer

Sylvie Jacqueline Ndongmo, Africa Regional Representative

Olivia Oseji, Africa Alternate Regional Representative

Beatriz Schulthess, Americas Regional Representative

Janet Slagter, Americas Alternate Regional Representative

Kozue Akibayashi, Asia Pacific Regional Representative

Janette McLeod, Asia Pacific Regional Alternate Representative

Heidi Meinzolt, Europe Regional Representative

Lina Hjärtström, Europe Alternate Regional Representative

Shirine Jurdi, MENA Regional Representative

Hanan Awwad, MENA Alternate Regional Representative

Jamila Afghani, South Asia Regional Representative

Zarina Salamat, South Asia Alternate Regional Representative

Madeleine Rees, Secretary-General

© 2014 WILPF International | All rights reserved | About this website | webmaster